Diving in

Hello World!

Welcome to my blog, this is a little introduction as to who I am and what this blog is for.

I’m a journalism student at the University of Oregon majoring in Public Relations and Magazine journalism. I have created this blog as part of a class project to explore an area of public relations I am interested in. Which is why this blog is focused on PR and how it relates to the non-profit/NGO world.

Through this blog I hope to learn about other organizations and what they do, how they use PR, what strategies they use and create conversations about both national and international organizations.

My interest in non-profits has been something I’ve been passionate about for a while but it was my internship this summer that truly solidified my commitment to working for non-profits. I was fortunate enough to work in Ireland for a NGO that worked with youth who were on probation and were out of school. I worked one on one with these kids and their mentors, tutors and probation officers. I saw how much of need there was for organizations like these and made a promise to myself to dedicate my career to making a difference.

Kissing the Blarney Stone in Ireland

Although I have a lot of experience with philanthropic and non-profit work my experience in the journalism world is quite limited. This blog is the first of many steps in order to establish myself within the journalistic world.

Leave a Reply

